Upper Fruitland Gathering Center


Upper Fruitland is in the four corners region of New Mexico on the Navajo Nation Reservation. The project was to assist Upper Fruitland Chapter to co-create a design of a cemetery guided by Chapter Officials and the community. The design team drew inspiration from the Navajo Hogan and completed multiple studies on the tectonics of the Hogan, materiality, and the cultural representation of directionality.
Public Space
Stage of Completion
Schematic Design (2018-2019)
Upper Fruitland, New Mexico
10,970 sq.ft. 1,020 m2
Upper Fruitland Chapter
IDC (Indigenous Design Collaborative) Design Leads
Wanda Dalla Costa, Claudio Vekstein
IDC Design Team
Tierra Miller, Rhonda Harvey, Dolores Cremonini

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021