O’odham Storytelling Table


“Designs from the River”
Local O’odham tribes have an ancestral legacy of creating basketry designs that derive from desert lifeways and materials. Basket weavers harvest cattails, willow, bear grass, and the white of yucca plants around early spring. The flora is cleaned, dried, and stored to later be woven with devil’s claw. Weaving practices vary from coiling to split stitch basketry. The design motifs reference traditional stories and indigenous ways of being for the O’odham peoples. The table was produced through a collaborative design process with local Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community artist Jeffrey Fulwilder.
Higher Education
Stage of Completion
Frabricaiton (2021)
Hayden Library, Arizona State University Tempe, Arizona
Arizona State University
IDC (Indigenous Design Collaborative) Design Leads
Wanda Dalla Costa, Claudio Vekstein
IDC Design Team
Selina Martinez
Jeffery Fulwilder
American Fiberglass

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021