Gila River Indian Community Sustainable Home


GRIC is a community of approximately 13,000 members located adjacent to the city of Phoenix. In 2016, the Governor and his leadership team entered into discussions with the Del E. Webb School of Construction at ASU regarding the development of a sustainable housing prototype. Since 2016, ASU faculty and students have completed multiple activities toward understanding cultural design of homes for GRIC. Activities included two community design engagement sessions, the construction of a traditional shade structure (vato) at GRIC, a survey on sustainable housing, and a mobile design lab with residents.
Stage of Completion
Design Development
Sacaton, Arizona
1,305 sq.ft. 122 m2
Gila River Indian Community
IDC (Indigenous Design Collaborative) Design Leads
Wanda Dalla Costa
IDC Design Team
Selina Martinez, Various ASU Students

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021