Fort McMurray 468 First Nation CommunityPark and Pavilion


Fort McMurray 468 First Nation Community Park and Pavilion is a multi-purpose space focusing on local Indigenous narrative and culture. The traditional star blanket influenced the design for a patterning system with a central fire. Across the street is a sign designed in the similar form to structure with the nation’s name and Cree syllabics to recognize the Indigenous narrative manifested in the pavilion.
Stage of Completion
Built (2023)
Fort McMurray First Nation, Alberta, Canada
Floor Construction Area 7,036 ft2 | 653.66 m2
Full Park Area
64,100 ft2 | 5955 m2
Total Budget
$1,269,118.75 CAD
Fort McMurray 468 First Nation
Architect of Record
Tawaw Architecture Collective Inc.
Design Team
Wanda Dalla Costa, Claudio Vekstein, Dolores Cremonini

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021