Enoch Cree Nation Cultural Interpretative Centre


Enoch Cree Nation is located adjacent to the City of Edmonton, Alberta. The Cree name for Enoch is Maskêkosihk, or ‘people of the land of medicine’. The concept of Medicine People became an overriding theme in the design of the facility, creating opportunities to connect with the land. The exterior that faces the city is dynamic and contemporary, and the curved form creates a central courtyard that is more private, which is to be used for cultural activities. The program includes teaching spaces, art galleries, medicinal gardens, performances and theater hall, elder’s lounge, and administration suite with supports of catering kitchen and archive storage.
Stage of Completion
Schematic Design 2021-2022
27,937 ft2 | 2,595 m2
Enoch Cree Nation
Architect of Record
Tawaw Architecture Collective Inc.
Design Team
Renders: 4eAteliers

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021