Colorado River Indian Tribes Justice Center


CRIT is unique as it is a community composed of four cultures: Mohave, Chemehuevi, Hopi, and Navajo. The design intent reflects each of the four distinct cultures, yet honor Mohave as the original territorial ancestors of the region. The tribe’s seal, which symbolizes the surrounding agriculture, river and all four tribes, motivated the representation of the Colorado River Indian Tribes Justice Center.
Public Space
Stage of Completion
Schematic Design (2019-2020)
Parker, Arizona
79,805 sq.ft. 7,414 m2
Colorado River Indian Tribes
IDC (Indigenous Design Collaborative) Design Leads
Wanda Dalla Costa, Claudio Vekstein
IDC Design Team
Kyron Hardy, Shaghayegh Vaseghi

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021