Changing Horses NFP Society Supportive Housing Complex


The Supportive Housing Complex is an initiative of the Indigenous Innovation Homes Initiative by the Canadian Government. The aim is to return agency and autonomy to First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in the planning and design of built environments. The lead for the Supportive Housing Complex is Katie Rabbit-Young Pine, who had the idea for an on-reserve housing development for the under-housed members of the Blood Tribe. The ‘Housing First’ model offers a traditional, self-sustaining, holistically ecological, Blackfoot village.
Stage of Completion
Built (2023)
Blood Tribe Kainai Nation, Alberta, Canada
4,779 ft2 | 444 m2
Changing Horses NFP Society
Design Leads
Wanda Dalla Costa Architect
Design Team
Wanda Dalla Costa, Dolores Cremonini, Rhonda Harvey, Tierra Miller

Honorary Fellow

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is proud to announce that Wanda Dalla Costa, a prominent Indigenous voice and practitioner in North American architecture, has been awarded honorary fellowship for 2022. Wanda Dalla Costa is a member of the Saddle Lake Cree Nation and was the first First Nation woman to become an architect in Canada. Her firm, Tawaw Architecture Collective, is based in Phoenix, Arizona. She is the director and founder of Arizona State University’s Indigenous Design Collaborative, a community-driven design and construction program that brings together tribal community members, industry and multidisciplinary teams of university students and faculty to co-design and co-develop solutions for tribal communities. Dalla Costa is a prominent Indigenous female voice within the architectural profession–specifically within the academic sphere in North America.

YBCA's 100 Honorees: Wanda Dalla Costa

Indigenous Design Collaborative's founder and design director Wanda Dalla Costa was recognized as YBCA 100 list of change makers and cultural activists working at the intersection of art, social change and civic life.

Trailblazer Award: Wanda Dalla Costa

Presented this year as part of NZ20, the world's largest net zero conference and expo, the Trailblazer Awards celebrate leaders who are building a net zero future through their work in the carbon, energy, water, waste, transit and/or policy sectors.

St. Lawrence Center Competition Award 2023


Jeff Harnar Award
Unbuilt Architecture 2021